Homemade LaraBars.

We make our family Homemade Protein bars every few weeks. Although these are wonderful, I leave them for the other three to eat. I get my protein from my food and really just wanted to find something easy/quick that I could grab for a powerful snack when I am on the go {I pair the bar with an apple or cut veggies}. Well, after hearing about LaraBars on The Biggest Loser last season, and how they only have 3-4 natural ingredients. I tried one. OH MY! Then I tried some other flavors! OH YEA! Loved everyone I tried. But they are expensive too ($1.49-2.00 each)…I did get two boxes on clearance/ .75 each bar, which have lasted me a while. But now I am getting to the end of my stash. So, I went on the hunt to find some tried and true recipes for making my own! BINGO!

This post gives you all the info behind why Lara Bars are so good for you, some flavor variations to try and she makes just 2 bars at a time! But this one is my favorite {read through the WHOLE recipe before starting!}:


Homemade {Dark} Chocolate-Almond LaraBars

recipe from here {w/my pics to illustrate}



    • 4 cups whole, pitted dates (moist ones work best) {I use 6 cups now, makes them closer to LaraBars!}
    • 2 cups raw or toasted whole shelled almonds
    • 1 cup chocolate chips or chopped dark chocolate {I used 60% Dark chips}
    • 2 tablespoons natural peanut butter (or sunflower or cashew butter), divided (or more, if necessary)



Line a 9-inch x 13-inch straight sided pan with a piece of parchment paper so that the paper hangs over the long edges. Set aside.

Fit a food processor with a metal blade. Add the almonds to the processor and pulse until they are uniformly finely chopped (think fresh bread crumb texture.) Add the chocolate chips and pulse again until the chocolate chips are also finely chopped.

Pour the chocolately nuts into a large mixing bowl and set aside.

Add half of the dates to the food processor and process until a paste forms and clumps together in the workbowl. Open the food processor and add in 1 tablespoon of the nut butter and half of the chocolatey ground nuts. Replace the lid and process until evenly combined. Scrape into the prepared pan.

Repeat with the remaining dates, chocolatey nuts and nut butter.

When all of the ingredients have been thus processed, wet your hands and use them to press the mixture as evenly over the bottom of the pan as possible. Fold the excess parchment over the bars to cover them and use something flat and heavy to press down firmly on the mixture until it is smooth.

Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before moving onto the slicing.


To slice:

Use the excess parchment paper like a sling to transfer the now-firm bars from the pan to a large cutting board.

Cut into desired size (I prefer 30 squares) and store in the refrigerator in a tightly covered container. An unrefrigerated bar will be good for 48 hours, covered, at room temperature.


{I made 24 bars and put them in snack size baggies} *My Hubby said I can keep making these ANYTIME I WANT! LOL. They are delish! Might add coconut next time. :)

Next up: Homemade Cilff Bars and TRIO/KIND bars! Then we will have four options and multiple flavors for a FRACTION of the cost, and all made with ingredients I already keep on hand, except the Brown Rice Syrup.

9 thoughts on “Homemade LaraBars.

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Faves & Raves » Ruthanne Photography – aka Eclectic Whatnot

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers